top of page

Focus On The Important


You've felt it right? There's so much to get done that you don't want to do any of it. It happens to me, I hit a brick wall.

I’ve spent the last 10 years learning how to build Sweat Nation. I've listened to podcast after podcast, I see clients, I producing my blog and podcast, create new digital programs(30/30 Rise), manage several companies, And all of this is happening against the backdrop of planning a huge summer wedding with my fiance.

I did everything I could to take care of myself. I ate well, exercised, meditated (as often as possible), and got seven to eight hours of sleep.

Am i doing enough?

Am I working too much? Full stop?

To be honest at times the answer is, Yes, I love everything I'm doing, and it's important. But as human beings you and I are hardwired to need time for leisure, rest, and relaxation. without that, things can get rough. I gotta tell myself how it is, not how it might be.

Let's take a left turn on the concept of how thing swill be or might be...

They have much less in common than you might expect. The key step in creating a better future is insisting that it not be based on the assumptions, grievances and dead ends of the past. The future won't be perfect. We won't be perfect. But we can be kind. We can listen. We can give opportunity the benefit of the doubt. The future won't always work. We won't always succeed. But we can be alert and seek out the possible instead of the predicted. The future won't always be fair. But we can try. We can care. We can choose to connect. It can be better if we let it.

Back to what we were talking about.

Apparently in a recent study in the European Heart Journal, which found that working more than 55 hours a week increased the risk of atrial fibrillation and serious cardiovascular complications by 40%.

So what to do so that we're firmly on the ground of how things will be?

It's hard when you donn’t want to give up anything you're doing. After all we're all passionate about purpose and are committed to making dreams a reality.

In short, I learned to work smarter instead of harder:

  • I clarified my goals so they were in closer alignment with my purpose.

  • I focused on only the most essential activities that would help me reach my goals.

  • I developed a productivity system to reduce distractions and amplify my efforts.

  • I got better at focusing on my “unique ability” and outsourcing/delegating other work.

Today I’m working on getting everything I was doing accomplished just like before, but I have since been working with a virtual assistant launched a 30 day holistic health program called 30/30 Rise. been working with my fiance on the logsitics of our summer adventure wedding, And I’m working fewer hours per week than I ever have before!

This is the promise of working smarter, not harder.

Here's to your wealth, health!

Track Of The Day - You're Not Alone - Olive

1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page