top of page

Tom Kha Gai(AIP)


I can remember the very first time I had Tom Kha Gai Soup. Rollerblading down Hollywood beach in South Florida in my late 20's, while on a date with a very nice young lady. I was beginning to allow my taste buds to grow up and try new foods. Besides, who wants to look like they're "uncultured" while on a date? I decided to see what this Tom Kha Gai soup was all about.

This experience was towards the beginning of my wellness journey. Here I am a decade later, still grateful to that young lady for exposing me to new foods. I wish her well wherever she is. Today as I continue working on optimizing my health, I am constantly creating art in the kitchen with better quality ingredients that feed my mind, body and soul.

With that said, here is an optimized Tom Kha Gai soup that follows the AIP protocol. With a nice bone broth base which is full of healthy ingredients like glycine. This recipe is simple and full of flavor. Give it a sip tonight. Here's to your wellness!

Here's What You Need....

PREP TIME - 5 MINS COOK TIME - 40 MINS TOTAL TIME - 45 MINS

Serves 6-8

INGREDIENTS



  • 1 tablespoon coconut oil

  • ½ shallot, diced

  • 3 garlic cloves, crushed or minced

  • 3 lemongrass stalks (3-4 inches each)

  • 1-inch ginger, sliced

  • ¼ teaspoon ground turmeric

  • 8 cups chicken stock or bone broth

  • 3 tablespoons coconut aminos

  • 1 teaspoon salt

  • 1½ cups beech mushrooms or mushroom of choice

  • 3-4 boneless skinless chicken breasts, chopped

  • 1 cup cilantro, minced

  • ½ cup basil, chiffonade

  • 16 ounce can coconut milk

  • 1 small lime, juiced


INSTRUCTIONS

  1. In a large stock-pot, sauté coconut oil, shallots, and garlic on medium-high heat.

  2. Once the shallots are translucent, add broth, coconut aminos, lemongrass, ginger, turmeric, and salt.

  3. Bring to a boil and bring the temperature down to medium-low. Steep for 25 minutes.

  4. Discard the ginger and lemongrass bits.

  5. Add chicken and mushrooms. Simmer for 10 minutes or until chicken is fully cooked.

  6. Remove from heat and add coconut milk, lime juice, basil, and cilantro. Serve warm.






11 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page